Since its very beginning Sutton Dinghy Club has been at the forefront of Irish sailing, with significant success on and off the water down the years.

Criteria: The website provides lists of current and former Sutton Dinghy Club sailors as far back as the early 1940’s. The list includes those who have excelled and achieved either on the water, in race management or sailing administration. On the water selection criteria is Olympic representative, top 10 place at Overseas, International or World Championship event, top 5 at an Irish Class national event or Top 3 at a Class regional event.

Sutton Dinghy Club boasts six Olympians who attended Games in London, Helsinki, Montreal, Moscow, Atlanta and Rio. In addition the Club has provided 35 Irish and overseas National Champions in 19 Classes – they have won more than 117 Championships between them. The Club has provided 6 ISA Helmsmans Champions winning 8 Championships, with another 3 Junior Helmsmans Champions for good measure.

At various stages Sutton Dinghy Club have been at forefront of Fireball (8 national championships and 6 runners-up), Laser (2 National Championships), Mirror (9 National Champions and 3 runners-up), Optimist (3 National Champions), GP14 (7 National Champions and 3 runners-up) and IDRA14 (30+ National Champions).

Sutton Dinghy Club’s sailors were pioneers in attending International sailing events. In 1957, Roy Dickson and Peter Galton won an Inter-Country sailing event in YW Hornets held in Burnham-on-Crouch, UK. In 1967, eight Sutton Dinghy Club sailors attended the Fireball Worlds in Bendor in France, with Roy Dickson and Hugh Morton taking third, while David Lovegrove (later ISA President) and Ian Baird were fourth. Since then the Club’s sailors have graced Admiral’s Cup and Commodore’s Cup teams, taken silverware back from Fireball, Mirror and GP14 Worlds and Kiel Week, and competed at the very top of professional sailing in the Sydney-Hobart Race and Australian 18ft skiffs.