

Ballyholme Yacht Club

Craftinsure GP14 Irish National Champs.



Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd July 2012

The GP14 Irish National Championships took place on Saturday and Sunday at Ballyholme Yacht Club. The event was kindly sponsored by Craftinsure Insurance and North Down Borough Council Tourism. Almost 40 boats from Ireland and England attended the event which was seen as a warm up event for the World Championships in Cornwall in three weeks time.

Racing was delayed on Saturday morning due to a lack of wind. The wind eventually filled in to 15 – 18 knots from the south to give three full length races. All three races were won by the English pair, Mike Senior and Chris White. With the forecast of heavy winds on Sunday the Race Officer, Robin Gray, was determined to get three races completed on Saturday to constitute a series.

As it was the winds did increase for racing on Sunday but did not stop racing going ahead. Two races were completed with winds reaching 28 knots at times. Mike Senior and Chris White coped best in the testing conditions and continued their dominance to score two further wins. The competition for second place was very tight with Shane MacCarthy and Andrew Thompson coming in just ahead of Simon Potts and Pete Grey. Shane and Andrew were first Irish boat. Ross Kearney, formerly from North Down but now working and living in England came in fourth with his crew Ed Bradburn.

The Silver Fleet was won by Gerard O'Sullivan and Hugh McNally who finished well inside the gold fleet boats in 11th place overall. First in the Bronze Fleet went to Michael Cox and Nigel Sloan from Newtownards. Michael and Nigel finished 22nd overall.

Mike Senior's dominance puts him in strong contention for the World Championships in August. Almost 20 boats from Ireland will be making the journey across to compete in the week-long event. A fleet of 130 boats are due to take part.

The final results of the event were as follows:-

1 st	Mike	Senior	&	Chris	White
-----------------	------	--------	---	-------	-------

- 2nd Shane MacCarthy & Andy Thompson
- 3rd Simon Potts & Pete Grey
- 4th Ross Kearney & Ed Bradburn
- 5th Dave Young & Shona Fleming
- 6th David Fletcher & Laura McFarland
- 7th Graham Elmes & Melanie Morris
- 8th Keith Louden & Dessie Hughes
- 9th Bryan Willis & Ruan O'Tiarnaigh
- 10th Alistair Duffin & Paul Whitcombe

Silver Fleet

- 1st Gerard O'Sullivan & Hugh McNally
- 2nd Daniel Gill & Cillian McGreer
- 3rd Daniel Gallagher & Gareth Gallagher

Bronze Fleet

- 1st Michael Cox & Nigel Sloan
- 2nd James Ogg & Ronan O'Beirne
- 3rd Peter Smyth & Jackie Malone