Following a 3 hour postponement for high winds the Senior and Junior fleets launched with 17 knots and gusts up to 23 knots. With Dylan McEvoy now in Junior fleet all the Sutton Dinghy Club participants were on the water.

Still in their first major event both Rory McEvoy and Oscar Langan now seem to be coming to terms with the level of competition and length of races with both lads having far better days. Rory enjoyed a 48 in race 7 his best result so far. Shane O’Brien had a 48 and has been our best performer to-date.

In Junior fleet, Dylan McEvoy is certainly enjoying himself and picked up a very creditable 65th from 90 in race 1 before he had a few problems in second race. FRom an experience perspective it seems Dylan made a good call in moving up to Junior fleet from Regatta after day 1.

Again thanks to Aidan Tarbett Photography and The Jelly Bean Factory for shots of our Optimist competitors.

The IDRA14 Nationals concluded in Lough Ree with a single race. Depending on how results went it was possible that 3 boats could win the event but Sutton Dinghy Clubs’s Alan Carr/Ian McCormack held most of the aces with a 7 point lead going into the last race. The other challengers Alan Henry and Frank Hamilton really needed to win the race and hope Alan finished worst than 6th. Even then it may come down to race wins or else an outstanding protest that still had to be heard.

As it happened neither Alan Henry or Frank Hamilton got the race win they really needed and Alan Carr/Ian McCormack kept their nose clean and came home in 3rd just behind Alan Henry/Simon Revill. That result meant Alan and Ian would bring the Championship title back to Sutton with the outstanding protest all that stood in their way. After a very consistent series that included a race win and a couple of seconds and thirds, Alan and Ian were not directly involved in the protest but it was all a mute point as the protest was thrown out due to being submitted after permitted time. So Sutton Dinghy Clubs’ Alan Carr/Ian McCormack are 2013 IDRA14 National Champions with Alan Henry/Simon Revill also from SDC in second place. Frank Hamilton from DMYC finished in 3rd with last years Champion Julie Ascoop in 4th. Jim Lambkin/Wendy Rudd from SDC finished in 5th.

Charles Sargent/John Lynch won Silver fleet and a perpetual trophy donated in memory of the late Terry Lynch, an IDRA14 character and brother of John. Emotions high.

no images were found