Sunday was Sutton Dinghy Club’s annual regatta and was also a celebration of 75 years in Sutton Creek. A great turnout for both senior and junior fleets with plenty of visiting dinghies from our local neighbors including Howth Yacht Club, Clontarf Yacht & Boat Club, Skerries Sailing Club and Malahide Yacht Club.

The day was bright but with 10-12 knots generally from NW. PRO on the main fleet Richard Kissane and his race management team on Saoirse, did a great job with 60+ boats across Laser, Radial, 4.7, 420, IDRA14, GP14, Toppers, Optimists and 9 KONA Windsurfers. There was a great turnout of 17 young novice Optimist sailors for the Regatta fleet, who had 2 races held under the watchful eye of PRO Wendy Rudd, assisted by Tony McEvoy.

In the Regatta fleet, youngster Luke Turvey (HYC), clearly one to watch, won both races convincingly despite the ebb tide. The minor placings were a much closer affair with that ebb tide in play particularly in the second race. Over 2 laps, places were still up for grabs right up to the finish line. With close tacking along the shore Harry Shackleton (CYBC) and Meisha Johnston (SDC) pulled a few places back to take 2nd and 3rd respectively. In far from easy conditions, all the novice sailors handled themselves very well. Particular mention to Conor McLoughlin and Aoife Fitzpatrick from Sutton Dinghy Club, competing in their first races.

The Topper class was also won with 2 bullets from Shane O’Brien (HYC & SDC). In the Optimist Main fleet, there was a clean sweep for HYC sailors with Jamie McMahon, Eve McMahon and the improving Dylan McEvoy on the podium. In the 420’s Saoirse Kelly & Rory McEvoy by winning the second race took the overall prize on count back from Ciaran & Darragh White. Tess and Tim Coyne were third. SDC’s recent Mirror Southerns winners Shane McLoughlin & Oscar Langan with 2 race wins finished ahead of club mates Conor Twohig & Jack Gibney. In the Laser 4.7 fleet, SDC’s Alex Hynes took a very credible 3rd behind Oisin O’Connor and Lochlann Hackett both (CYBC). On countback Thomas Natin (MYC) took Laser Standard from Peter O’Hara (CYBC). In the Radial fleet neither SDC’s Callum Maher & Darragh Kelly finished just behind Sean Anglim (MYC). Alan Carr & Dana Kilroy took IDRA14 spoils from Frank Hamilton & Jennifer Byrne (DMYC). In GP14, Eanna Lawless & Sinead Dickson held off challenge from David Johnston & Bobby McGonigle. 9 KONA ventured across from Malahide for the 2nd year running with ex SDC sailors Garret Donnelly and Coleman Phelan in the mix. Victory went to Gerry Robinson from last years National Champion Cormac O’Brien with Ian Bradley in 3rd.

The Commodore thanked PRO Richard Kissane & Wendy Rudd and all those who helped on the water and shore-side. In particular the support from local Clubs in attending and also providing additional rescue crews is hugely appreciated in making this a special regatta marking 75 years sailing dinghies in the Creek.

Photos available on Sutton Dinghy Club facebook page. Full results are available on the website. 

[whohit]-2014 Annual Regatta-[/whohit]