The IDRA14 Championship were concluded on Saturday in Lough Ree YC and Sutton’s Alan Henry & Simon Revil reclaimed the trophy they last won in 2011. The victory, Alan Henry’s 6th Championship following his first way back in 2002 in Galway Bay was decisive with 5 wins out of 5 raced. With the wind dying away altogether on Saturday afternoon the PRO had no option but to bring proceedings to an early conclusion without getting 6th race underway.2015 IDRA14 Champions

IDRA14 Championship TrophyThe weekend got better with Simon Revil taking the Championship Crew Race which made the 4 months of hard work getting 14/134 in shape all the more worthwhile. An event that had heavy winds to light saw last years winner Pat O’Neill (CYBC) finish in 4th, with Philip Hackett & Fiachra Collins (CYBC) in 3rd with Sutton Dinghy Clubs Alan Carr & Ian McCormack runners up after a very consistent 5 races. Our Commodore Jim Lambkin and Wendy Rudd left their best till last taking a 3rd in the final race to finish 7th over all. Sutton Dinghy Clubs 4th representative Charles Sargent & John Lynch finished 10th with a couple of capsizes in heavy conditions on Friday.2015 IDRA14 Results

The Crew Race, as mentioned was win by Simon Revil with Suttons Callum Maher finishing 2nd with his greatest rival Wendy Rudd taking 3rd. A great family weekend in tents and mobilehomes was had by all despite the rain and a superb dinner in Lough Ree YC.

[whohit]-2015 IDRA14 Champs-[/whohit]