In 1990 a large contingent of Sutton Dinghy Club sailors headed North to Ballyholme to the Irish Mirror Nationals. At stake was the National Championship title but also the possibility of a record breaking feat of keeping the title in the same club for a 6th time in succession.

In a regatta beset with very light wind, Sutton Dinghy Clubs Shane O’Grady and his crew Killian Sargent (Freckles – 64203) won the Irish Mirror National Champion title by a mere .75 pts. Without winning a race in the series, their consistent set of results in very difficult conditions were enough to secure the title in Ballyholme.

In winning the title Shane and Killian kept the title in Sutton for a record 6th year in a row following the successes of Roger Morris, Brian Jennings and Shane’s brother Dan who won the title back in 1988.

Sutton’s Colin Kavanagh/Linda Houlihan finished 3rd with Dave Maguire/Brian Quinn finishing runner-up in the Junior championship to Robert Eason from Malahide.

There is a Regatta report from the period included in attached photos.

[book id=’4′ /]